Thank You Politically Speaking

Smart people, good writing, and help finding my voice

Joel Ombry
3 min readMar 29, 2023
Source: Tima Miroshnichenko at pexels.com

Politically Speaking was one of the best political journals on Medium.

But I had the privilege of editing for it, so I’m biased. (But that doesn’t necessarily mean I’m wrong.)

The closure of the journal a couple of weeks ago has left a gap in my intellectual fabric that I didn’t fully appreciate until just recently. I was thinking about how to process this turn of events when I thought of something Scott Tarlo, the editor-in-chief, once said. He noted that writing about the turbulent political times we live in seems to be therapy for some authors. Of course, he was spot on. So I decided to do what we do here — write.

On learning the news I thanked Scott (of course) for the opportunity, support, and guidance he provided over several months. Aside from the Herculean task of editing an ever-increasing flow of submissions, he had to spend time answering countless questions from his editorial team. Well, at least from me. Katherine Valentino is an amazing editor and was likely lower maintenance.

But I also owe a debt of gratitude to the many great writers I met while reviewing their work. Writers like Dustin Arand, Pluralus, George Dillard, and David Martin to name just a few. I didn’t want to let PS just…

--

--

Joel Ombry

Trying to figure it out by writing it down. Interested in politics, health and fitness, writing and personal development.